17 states pledge cooperation for highways projects

April 19, 2010

New Delhi, April 13 (IANS) Seventeen states and the union territory of Chandigarh Tuesday assured support to the centre for timely execution of highways projects in the build, operate and transfer (BOT) mode.

The governments of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tripura, Uttarakhand, West Bengal and the union territory of Chandigarh signed the State Support Agreement (SSA) with the ministry of road transport and highways.

The agreement was countersigned by the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI).

For the development of highways, support of the state governments is essential in the matter of land acquisition, removal of encroachments, shifting of utilities, rehabilitation and other local law and order related issues.

“The SSA aims at formalising the cooperation arrangement with the state governments to the implementation of the extensive programme of development of national highways on public-private-partnership (PPP) through the NHAI,” an official statement said.

Five states — Karnataka, Kerala, Goa, Puducherry and Sikkim — will also sign the SSA soon, it said.

However, Uttar Pradesh has indicated its desire to withdraw from the SSA it signed earlier.

“Discussions are going on with the government of Uttar Pradesh to resolve the matter,” the statement added.

Source: sindhtoday.net

Share your comments here: